Elliott (ELL, #116)

The Elliott Building (ELL) contains:
- Faculty of Science
- Department of Chemistry
- Department of Physics and Astronomy
- Centre for Advanced Materials and Related Technology (CAMTEC)
- Victoria Subatomic Physics and Accelerator Research (VISPA)
Rooms
-
ELL 060 – Classroom
Classroom Elliott (ELL) Faculty & staff Community Students 30 to 100 -
ELL 061 – Classroom
Classroom Elliott (ELL) Students Community Faculty & staff 30 to 100 -
ELL 062 – Classroom
Classroom Elliott (ELL) Community Faculty & staff Students 30 to 100 -
ELL 160 – Classroom
Classroom Elliott (ELL) Community Students Faculty & staff 30 to 100 -
ELL 161 – Classroom
Classroom Elliott (ELL) Community Faculty & staff Students Under 30 -
ELL 162 – Classroom
Classroom Elliott (ELL) Community Students Faculty & staff 30 to 100 -
ELL 167 – Lecture theatre
Lecture theatre Elliott (ELL) Faculty & staff Community Students 100 or more -
ELL 168 – Lecture theatre
Lecture theatre Elliott (ELL) Community Faculty & staff Students 100 or more
History
Percy Harris Elliott (1882 - 1943) lectured in both physics and chemistry at Victoria College, the predecessor to the AVÌìÌà (UVic). He served as college principal from 1927 to 1943.
The Elliott Building is the former home of the Climenhaga observatory. The UVic telescope now resides in the Bob Wright Centre (BWC).
John L. Climenhaga was the founding head of the Physics department and served as dean of arts and science from 1969 to 1972.
The laboratory and office wings were constructed in 1963. The adjoining lecture wing was constructed in 1964.